Skip to content

How I’m Being Deliberate

18 August 2015

On 12th January, I posted about my goal for 2015. My goal was this:

“I commit to try and be deliberate in my actions.”

Something deliberate is done consciously and intentionally. To me, being deliberate meant being mindful of my actions and decisions, and choosing my actions deliberately — rather than finishing my day realising I had moved through the paces of that day without being conscious of what I was doing and why I was doing it. I would take more ownership and accountability of my days and how I spend my time, while at the same time, accepting and owning those times when I chose to do nothing productive and simply be.

While not 100% constant, I have been successful in living deliberately most of this year so far, and look forward to continuing this for the rest of 2015. And I have learned that part of me living deliberately is knowing what not to try and do, so that I don’t set myself up for continual failure when I can’t do everything that I want to.

That’s where you come in. I’m not committing to posting any more on this blog in 2015. I might post again, I might not. But it’s not in my scope of things to do. At the moment, I don’t benefit enough from doing so to make it worth doing. I’m keeping the blog, and I’ll probably use it again in the future, but for now, it’s about me in the present. I have some looking after myself to do.

No comments yet

Say something