Skip to content

The Messenger by Markus Zusak

26 February 2013

themessenger_markuszusakI finished reading Markus Zusak’s The Messenger this morning in my hammock. I really enjoyed this book, but was disappointed by the ending. It felt lazy, and while I’m a fan of inconclusive endings, this one tried to come to a conclusion but it didn’t quite make it.

I did however appreciate the idea behind the messages, and the rest of it didn’t feel contrived at all. One passage especially stood out to me:

“Sometimes people are beautiful.
Not in looks.
Not in what they say.
Just in what they are.”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Vasiliki permalink
    26 February 2013 16:57

    I’ve been wanting to read the messenger ever since i finished the book thief. Have you read it? Its so good!

    • 26 February 2013 17:09

      Yes I have, The Book Thief is what inspired me to read The Messenger! I want to read more of Zusak. Have you read any of his others?

      • Vasiliki permalink
        26 February 2013 17:12

        No i haven’t :/ not yet anyway but i really want to, i just never get around to doing so đŸ˜›

Say something

