Skip to content

A Night Without Technology

29 November 2012

Last night the power went out due to big storms in Perth, and it was one of the most relaxing nights I’ve had at home in a long time. It’s crazy to think that even though I know I enjoy doing non-technology-related things, it takes a storm to knock my power out to prevent me from going online or watching TV. I spent the night in a candle-filled room writing, reading, and chatting with my housemate. At the end of it, I said to her, “We shouldn’t wait for the next storm to light our candles!” The room smelled amazing from the scented candles, and I felt great from spending a few hours detached from my phone, computer, and TV. It’s inspired me to spend more of my home time “unplugged.” Will I do it? I hope so!

No comments yet

Say something

