Skip to content

How to make simple things complicated

2 July 2012

Unblock Me game on my phone

Apparently, that’s something I’m good at–making simple things complicated. I did it when I got my new couch, I did it recently when trying to organise a social event, and I did it yesterday when I calculated my 10,000th-day birthday, then was told I had chosen the most convoluted way possible to figure it out. 🙂

And I realised today as I played Unblock Me on my new phone. The aim of the game is to move the red block out of the break in the right-hand wall, but to do that, you need to move various other blocks multiple times to get it there. (Yes I know, that was a poor description. I’m sorry. Just look at the picture, you’ll get it.) So after playing a few times, I realised I was often making the solution to the puzzle more complicated than it needed to be, or taking the long way to get there.

I don’t know why I do this, nor do I know how to fix it–if it even needs to be fixed. I’m just saying, it’s something I do.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 8 July 2012 04:53

    It just means that you think outside the box – there is nothing wrong with unconventional thinking. It just makes you unique!

Say something

