Skip to content

Camping and Poetry

23 April 2012

I went camping this weekend at Lane Poole Reserve in Dwellingup with some friends. I can’t even describe how good it was. I hadn’t been camping in about a year and a half, and I didn’t realise how much I missed it. The trees, the campfire, the stars, the dirt, the fresh air, no traffic noise, just us and the earth. It was amazing. And the people I shared it with are equally as amazing.

Now I’ve just spent the last hour looking back through my old posts from April 2010, when I participated in NaPoWriMo. A lot of poems that I thought I wouldn’t keep or do anything with at the time, I now want to keep and edit. Some are even closer to finished than I thought. I think it’s good to leave a lot of time between when I first write the poem and when I edit it for the last time (although maybe two years is a bit long!) because now that I’m not attached to it, I see it differently.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 23 April 2012 13:16

    Oh, I don’t really think two years is too long at all. Sometimes poems of mine come together quickly and are edited a while after, but usually a great while after. When you come back to it fresh and can see it from a new perspective, outside your emotional head at the time of writing, you see all kinds of things that should be cut, or sometimes expanded. I have some 2010 NaPoWriMo poems I am editing now too, so you are definitely not alone. 🙂

Say something

