Skip to content

Refrigerators, Desks, and Walnut Spice Muffins

3 September 2011

Last week, R. and I were driving along Central Avenue in Maylands when R. spotted the perfect-sized fridge for my apartment. We veered off the road, dusted it off, and loaded it into the boot of my car. I was sure something would be wrong with it, but alas! It works! R. kindly offered to take the humongous fridge I’ve been using off my hands for me. She and her husband will use it as a drinks fridge on their patio.

That same day, we also checked out the two antique shops on the corner of Central Avenue and Beaufort Street. We saw a beautiful old wooden desk and chair, and I’ve had my eye out for one like it for a long time. We went back there today and I bought it. Tomorrow R.’s parents are coming over with their trailer and we’ll pick up my new writing desk then take the big fridge from my place to R.’s.

To thank her parents for their help, I made some Walnut Spice Muffins. I followed this recipe for the muffins, and this recipe for the topping. (I added the walnuts myself.) I just taste-tested a warm-from-the-oven muffin, and it was DE-licious! We’ll have them with freshly ground coffee and steamed milk tomorrow morning.

Say something

