Skip to content

Let’s enjoy the mystery in this one

23 August 2011

I finished reading Alice Sebold’s The Lovely Bones last week, and as I was closing the book after reading the final page I noticed there was a handwritten note on the title page. I don’t know how I read the whole book without seeing it, but there it was:

“Darling Jane
Let’s enjoy the mystery in this one”

I like finding inscriptions written in books. It reminds me that someone else has read it, pondered it, and hopefully enjoyed it before me. The Lovely Bones is not normally a book I would buy based on the back cover blurb–I tend to dislike anything unrealistic, so the idea of a book written by a dead girl watching her family from heaven would not grab my attention–but I had heard good reviews so when I came across it in the Salvos for $1, I couldn’t turn it down.

I’m glad I didn’t. While it wasn’t riveting, it held my attention all the way through, and it was interesting to think about how it would feel to be in the girl’s place, watching her family from somewhere just out of reach. It was also, ultimately, the story of how a family moved forward after the death of their daughter/sister, and it was well-written.

If you want to read it, you can have my copy.

No comments yet

Say something

