Skip to content

Dear Sally

19 May 2011

I got an email from someone named Sally asking for the password to read my poem posts. I am intrigued, because she mentioned where I work, which means she knows me! I assumed she was a customer at first, but today I’ve been wondering if she’s actually a staff member being mysterious about her or his identity. To be honest, I prefer not knowing so it doesn’t affect how I think about what I post and who might read it.

I asked her how she had connected the work-life “me” with my online blog since I take care not to include any identifying details on my blog, and her response was, “We can’t compartmentalise our lives to suit our own ideals of privacy. If you have a blog you ARE out there to be discovered and it is a risk you take.” I agree with this. I don’t try to hide who I am on my blog; I keep my work-life identity out of it so my blog doesn’t become a representation of the business I work for.

So, Sally, I will continue to enjoy both our shared love of poetry and your mysterious identity!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Sally permalink
    20 May 2011 12:50

    A noiseless patient spider,
    I mark’d where on a little promontory it stood isolated,
    Mark’d how to explore the vacant vast surrounding,
    It launch’d forth filament, filament, filament, out of itself,
    Ever unreeling them, ever tirelessly speeding them.

    And you O my soul where you stand,
    Surrounded, detached, in measureless oceans of space,
    Ceaselessly musing, venturing, throwing, seeking the spheres to connect them,
    Till the bridge you will need be form’d, till the ductile anchor hold,
    Till the gossamer thread you fling catch somewhere, O my soul.

    Walt Whitman

  2. 22 May 2011 21:58

    I think you’ve got a sensible approach. I keep my writing and my job as separate as possible, for a variety of reasons. I really don’t want to become one of those people who go around all the time at the office promoting their band/show/whatever. Also, my writing is pretty PG, but there is occasionally a level of violence and sex that might shock some.

    On the other hand, yes, people can find me if they want to. That’s cool. If there was anything I really wanted to keep private, I wouldn’t put it on the interwebs in the first place.

    • 23 May 2011 09:02

      Same here, I wouldn’t put anything private on my blog because I know people can and do find me.

Say something

