Skip to content

Strawberry Muffins

27 February 2011

Today is my friend’s birthday, and I made him some strawberry muffins. (Vegan, of course!) These are the first muffins I have ever made by myself, and I only half-followed the recipe! They are scrumptious, if I do say so myself, so I am pleased.

I’m staying in a motel in the town where I’m working at the moment, and when I was buying the ingredients I didn’t think about the fact that the motel room doesn’t have a muffin tray nor does it have measuring cups or spoons. So I measured using a drinking glass and hoped it was close to the correct quantities. Usually I’m terrible at judging spatial quantities, but I must have been fairly accurate tonight! And thankfully the muffins still cooked properly even without the heat of the muffin tray to help them out. They did take twice the amount of time the recipe said they would need.

I hope he likes them!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 28 February 2011 06:25

    Your strawberry muffins look scrumptious and I’m sure he’ll love them! Would you care to post the recipe? πŸ™‚

  2. Eagle permalink
    28 February 2011 09:51

    This made me laugh. I have to use a cup for measuring when I cook all the time. My boyfriend’s apartment has limited cooking supplies so I have gotten extremely good at measuring quantities using a pint glass. πŸ™‚

  3. 1 March 2011 00:58

    Love the pint glass, Eags!

    Deb, here is the recipe… just remember I may not have actually used the quantities it says! Best to do the same and use a glass to measure so it turns out just as unique. (-:

    1.5 C flour
    1/2 C sugar (says the recipe… I used 5 teaspoons only)
    1/4 tsp salt
    1 tsp baking powder
    1 tsp baking soda
    3/4 C milk (I used soy milk)
    1/3 C oil (I used applesauce instead of oil, which also sweetened it without the sugar)
    1 tsp vanilla
    1 C strawberrries (recipe says to use frozen, I used fresh)

    Mix dry ingredients, then stir in the wet, then the berries last. Bakes 15-20 mins in 190 degree Celsius oven. I didn’t have a muffin tin so it took twice the time to bake.

Say something

