Skip to content

No Room for Speculation

20 February 2011

For my second post on Natasha Lester’s novel What Is Left Over, After (you can read the first post here), I want to talk about a passage that reminded me that I have no room for speculation in my life.

In the passage, the main character Gaelle has been telling a girl called Selena a story about her childhood. Selena asks Gaelle,  “What would you have done if you hadn’t found Miss St Clair? If you’d got home and your mum had just sat there?” Gaelle answers, “That kind of speculation doesn’t interest me. There’s enough to worry about in the things that do happen in life.”

I speculate about what would have happened in sitautions I’ve been in all the time. I even speculate about what might happen in situations that I don’t even know if I will ever be in! I like Gaelle’s reasoning that it’s not worth speculating about what didn’t or might not happen, when there is enough to think about in relation to what is actually happening. I disagree that it’s worth worrying about though–she says “there’s enough to worry about in the things that do happen,” but I don’t believe anything is worth worrying about. Worry doesn’t change anything, it only makes you anxious. If there’s something you can do to change an undesirable situation into a better one, then do it. If there’s nothing you can do, worrying isn’t going to help.

Say something

