Skip to content

One book down

25 January 2011

I finished another book!

Do-Over!” by Robin Hemley, is a real account of the author’s attempt to do-over parts of his childhood (kindergarten, summer camp, and the prom, to name a few). It was interesting in an “I’m curious if anything better/funnier happens” sort of way, but it wasn’t one of those books that you just hate putting down.

I kept wondering why everybody he told about his project was enthusiastic about it. I feel like if I were to do the same thing, people would think there’s something wrong with me for wanting to try to fix the way I feel about the past. How is redoing an event from when I was twelve going to change my memory of the first time it happened? I don’t think he should have not done the project or written the book; I just can’t personally understand his reasons for it.

He did say one thing that really stuck with me, though. He quotes Anaïs Nin’s diary:

“We do not grow absolutely, chronologically. We grow sometimes in one dimension, and not in another; unevenly. We grow partially. We are relative. We are mature in one realm, childish in another. The past, present, and future mingle and pull us backward, forward, or fix us in the present. We are made up of layers, cells, constellations.”

I feel like this all the time. One part of me feels sophisticated and wise, full of confidence, while another part of me feels immature and socially awkward. I agree that different parts of our selves grow at different times, and that sometimes we might advance or regress from where we have grown in one aspect but not in another. Well said, Anaïs!

Say something

