Skip to content

Reading List 2010 Final Update

15 January 2011

Fourteen days into the new year, here is my final count on my 2010 Reading List. As I suspected, I did not read from every category on the list, but I am satisfied with what I did accomplish. I am now starting over for 2011, and my goal is to complete the entire list.

  • 1 biography
  • 1 memoir
  • 1 nonfiction
  • 1 how-to book
  • 3 short story collections
    • The theory of light and matter by Andrew Porter
    • Ford County by John Grisham
    • I Was Told There’d Be Cake by Sloane Crosley
  • 2 books on craft
    • Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life by Anne Lamott
    • Writing Down the Bones: Freeing the Writer Within by Natalie Goldberg
  • 1 historical novel
  • 2 books by authors I’ve never read
    • We Were the Mulvaneys by Joyce Carol Oates (read 3/4, didn’t hold my interest)
    • Rabbit, Run by John Updike
    • The Pilot’s Wife by Anita Shreve
    • Maybe the Moon by Armistead Maupin (read 1/2, didn’t hold my interest)
    • The Extra Large Medium by Helen Slavin
  • 2 books in a new discipline/field of interest
  • 2 books by local authors
    • Rhubarb by Craig Silvey
  • 2 children’s books
  • 2 classics
  • 2 re-reads
  • 2 books by international authors
    • How the Light Gets In by M. J. Hyland
  • 1 book of great heft
  • 12 books of poetry
    1. Bluets by Maggie Nelson
    2. School of the Arts by Mark Doty
    3. Source by Mark Doty
    4. Telling a Hawk from a Handsaw by Chris Wallace-Crabbe
    5. Mystery, So Long by Stephen Dobyns
    6. Best American Poetry 2009
  • 3 literary journals
    • Meanjin Vol. 69 No. 1, 2010
    • jubilat 17, 2009-2010
  • 1 literary journalism/creative nonfiction book
  • 1 book of travel writing
    • Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert
  • 1 humorous book
  • 12 issues of The Sun magazine
No comments yet

Say something

