Skip to content

When life lends us writing inspiration

4 November 2010

Sometimes when I try to write directly about an event or a moment in my life, whether in poetry or fiction, it doesn’t work. I can physically write about it, but it doesn’t take on the form or meaning–the importance–that I want it to. I wrote a poem about an evening I spent with friends that I thought would make a fantastic poem, but in the end, the evening’s charm didn’t lend itself to the poem like I thought it would. I tried writing it in several different forms, from several angles, but I let it go when none of them pleased me.

Months later, while writing fiction, one of my characters spent an evening like the one I had been trying to write about. It happened inadvertently. The character led himself to the evening, and I pulled out my memory of the experience to fill in the details. Afterwards, I was surprised at how easy it was to use my own life experience in writing, after having tried so hard without results. It was as if, because I didn’t force it when it wasn’t ready to be written, it came out and helped me when I needed it, when it fit into the story.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 6 November 2010 00:50

    true words.
    thanks for sharing.

  2. 6 November 2010 00:50

    http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/11/03/thursday-poets-rally-week-32-november-4-10/
    you are represented as fresh poets to explore at our Poets Rally week 32.
    I invite you to become a participant, which helps you get poetry awards upon making a minimum 18 comments to participants.
    Thanks for the considerations. Link in a poem via commenting under the post when you are ready.
    Happy Weekend!
    xxx

Say something

