Skip to content

Tuesday comes after Friday

24 September 2010

This is a playful little thing I wrote in response to the following line from Robert Wrigley’s poem “Bear Dreams.

…all that is no longer there, those seeds of another hunger.”

I woke to find someone changed the order of the week. Tuesday comes after Friday now. Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Tuesday, Saturday, Sunday. When were they going to let me know? Tuesday is the armpit of the week, much like New Jersey is the armpit of the United States. It must have been a Jersey girl who rearranged it, trying to up her status by association. She would have been more successful inventing a new deodorant. What are we supposed to do with Tuesdays now? Have a four-day work week? Is Tuesday the beginning of the weekend? Or is it a swing-day, the non-work-week, non-week-end day that comes with no expectations, no guarantees. An “if” day. What-if. Maybe that Jersey girl was on to something after all. Tuesday: the day to do what you wouldn’t do on any other day. The day for new adventures. The day of possibility.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 24 September 2010 21:02

    If only we could arrange the days as we would like, I’d opt for more Fridays. LOL.

  2. 24 September 2010 21:40

    Bizarre, but so cleverly expressed. I’d be more comfortable with the abolition of Monday altogether!

  3. 24 September 2010 21:53

    this is a great metaphor. i often feel this way: that the world has changed its rules and no one told me and how could i possible know how to act. 🙂

  4. 24 September 2010 22:37

    I love the playfulness of this but with serious undertones.

  5. 25 September 2010 14:32

    You got a huge grin from me. You moved Tuesday. Gordon Dickson in 1956 had a short story protagonist awaken on Zeepsday. I forget for sure but I think it followed Thursday. No one else was in the world but him. I read this story in 1956, when it appeared in some SF monthly like Galaxy or F&SF. I was ten, perhaps eleven, and in the fifth or sixth grade. I really needed a Zeepsday week so I could catch a break. That is why I remember about the story so well. But I thought it might have been Robert Sheckley’s story and Google found otherwise in seconds. What glorious tools we have in the internet and efficient search engines!

  6. 26 September 2010 05:28

    nice one Mallery….when retired…..the days/moments are ALLLLLLLLLLLL good…thanks for sharing this

  7. 26 September 2010 05:38

    I’m with Mary, more Fridays for sure. I love what you did and you had me grinning from beginning to end. Was glad when you redeemed the New Jersey girl. Fun, just plain fun.

    Elizabeth

  8. 26 September 2010 10:57

    I love the confusion this produces…just plain fun!

Say something

