Skip to content

2010 Reading List Update

2 June 2010

A few months ago I started a reading list that I wanted to complete by the end of the year, my inspiration for the list coming from an article I had read recently. (You can read my original reading list post here.) This is an updated list, with the number of books remaining in each category as well as the titles I have already completed. I also included books I intend on reading in parenthesis. If you have any recommendations for me, feel free to shout them out! I love discovering new favourites.

  • 1 biography
  • 1 memoir (Howard Zinn)
  • 1 nonfiction (vegan)
  • 1 how-to book (photography?)
  • 3 2 short story collections (Great Short Works of Leo Tolstoy)
    • The theory of light and matter by Andrew Porter
  • 2 books on craft (Sage Cohen)
  • 1 historical novel (Bible?)
  • 2 1 books by authors I’ve never read
    • We Were the Mulvaneys by Joyce Carol Oates
  • 2 books in a new discipline/field of interest (Eastern philos.)
  • 2 children’s books
  • 2 classics
  • 2 re-reads (Arundhati Roy’s The God of Small Things)
  • 2 books by international authors (Alaa Al Aswany’s The Yacoubian Building)
  • 1 book of great heft (something daunting) (Ayn Rand’s Atlas Shrugged)
  • 12 9 books of poetry
    • Bluets by Maggie Nelson
    • School of the Arts by Mark Doty
    • Source by Mark Doty
  • 3 literary journals (jubilat)
  • 1 literary journalism/creative nonfiction book*
  • 1 book of travel writing*
  • 1 humorous book*

I also read The Sun magazine each month, which is a delicious combination of short stories, nonfiction pieces, and poetry that I can’t get enough of.

*Added on 6/6/10.

No comments yet

Say something

