Skip to content

Thoughts on Hyperlinks

16 May 2009

I don’t like using hyperlinks in poems. I tried it in my last post, but I think it distracts the reader and takes meaning away from the poem. It could work, if the poem was written with the intent of incorporating hyperlinks, but all I did was add links to an already-written poem–I know, the easy way out of a prompt.

I do like hyperlinks–up here, in the blurb before the poem, to let the reader know what my prompt was or to reference another writer. When I see hyperlinks when reading other articles or blogs, I click them (too much, so that it becomes distracting!) and I enjoy the opportunity to learn more about something I’m not familiar with.

But as far as hyperlinks in poems go, I won’t be doing it anymore.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 17 May 2009 06:24

    I found the same frustration writing my poem and inserting the hyperlinks in after the fact. I did find some quirky things to link to.

  2. 18 May 2009 05:49

    Yeah, I think it’s a case of horses for courses, and you know what they say, they say: If the barn needs painting…

Say something

